|
glor Beginner
Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Sun May 11, 2003 4:04 am
Alarms |
Hey everyone, I just had some questions about alarms. Basically, what I would like to do is allow multiple triggers to work off one alarm. So if one trigger fires, it'll set the alarm to go off in 20 seconds. But if in the meantime, another trigger fires, I want to have that alarm reset to 20 seconds. Then, if yet another trigger fires, I want to be able to kill that alarm (or maybe just disable it so that zmud doesn't get slowed too much?).
I realize I can just use the tick timer for this, but I need to do it for a couple of cases and i guess some questions I have are:
1) How do you 'reset' an alarm?
2) How do you 'disable' or 'remove' an alarm?
I'm thinking I could just have an alarm trigger that's sitting there waiting to be enabled and reset or disabled, but I odn't know how to manipulate it (and the timer seems to keep counting down even when I disable it...). Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks a bunch!! |
|
|
|
Bremen Novice
Joined: 26 Dec 2002 Posts: 33 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun May 11, 2003 4:46 am |
quote:
1) How do you 'reset' an alarm?
2) How do you 'disable' or 'remove' an alarm?
Alarms are just triggers, they can be named with Trigger IDs upon creation, removed with #UNTRIG, and disabled/enabled with #T+ and #T-.
One possibility: Use temporary alarms (#ALARM "ID" +20 {actions}) and delete/recreate as necessary in the other triggers.
--Bremen, zMUD 6.16 on WinME. |
|
|
|
glor Beginner
Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Sun May 11, 2003 5:53 am |
hm, I've tried doing that, but apparently I can't tag an ID to the alarm via the #ALARM command (syntax error), it only lets me do #ALARM +3 {blah}. Which means I can't #UNTRIG it because the ID is just 'alarm####' that is different every time.
Any way around this? |
|
|
|
Bremen Novice
Joined: 26 Dec 2002 Posts: 33 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun May 11, 2003 6:59 am |
What syntax are you using?
#ALARM "test" +15 {#SAY hi}
#UNTRIG test
works for me
quote:
apparently I can't tag an ID to the alarm via the #ALARM command (syntax error
--Bremen, zMUD 6.16 on WinME. |
|
|
|
Dumas Enchanter
Joined: 11 Feb 2003 Posts: 511 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun May 11, 2003 3:00 pm |
And if what Bremen said doesn't work, you can always assign an ID for the alarm in the settings panel.
|
|
|
|
|
|