Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
alaric
Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Cherry Point, NC

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:47 am   

Tabbed Status Windows?
 
Is it possible to make more than one status window and use tabs to switch between? I tried making a new status window inside the settings and it just added the info to the current one I have. :( I am not trying to make new MUD windows or whatever they are called. Any ideas?
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 4:25 am   
 
Nope, you are only allowed one official status window. If you want more than one, you need to write a plugin (extreme solution) or use #WINDOW/#MAKEWINDOW and handle it yourself.
_________________
EDIT: I didn't like my old signature
Reply with quote
alaric
Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Cherry Point, NC

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:02 pm   
 
Ok...given you can make capture commands that will open new MUD windows and all, and you can make each new window have its own settings file....how might I go about using those instead? I recall reading something about being able to make them reference the main window, but does anyone have the details? or can someone point me to the help file that talks about that? going to search for it right now myself as well
Reply with quote
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 1:52 pm   
 
Look at the help section on Multiplaying. Variable references can be done with @WindowName.variable also using the #CLR command can be useful. For example a snippet from my system
Code:
:Room:#CLR
  #IF (@RoomName) {#WINDOW Room {%replace(@RoomName,"[3","[1;3")}}
  #IF (@RoomDesc) {#WINDOW Room {%ansi(white)@RoomDesc}}
  #IF (@RoomExit) {#WINDOW Room {Obvious exits: %expanddb(@RoomExit," ","=")}}
  RoomName=%stripansi(@RoomName)

A button from my Room child window exhibits how to get around the lack of notification that a variable in another window was changed. This allows all the changes to be made to the other window variables then in the Room window "Update=%eval(!@Update)" is enough to cause the button to updates its display. Buttons can be a very effective system for building extra status like windows.
Code:
#CLASS {Flasher}
#VAR Update {1}
#VAR RoomBtnControl {0}
#ALARM "RoomBtnFlasher" {*5} {#IF (@Veroule.Connected) {RoomBtnControl=%eval(!@RoomBtnControl)} {RoomBtnControl=0;#T- RoomBtnFlasher}}
#BUTTON 0 {%if(@Update,,)%if(@RoomBtnControl,@Veroule.RoomName,%expanddb(@Veroule.RoomExit," ","=")|@RoomOthers)} {} {%if(@Update,,)%replace(@Veroule.RoomExit,"|"," ")} {} {} {} {} {Size} {350} {13} {} {} {} {} {} {} {} "" {} {} {RoomBtn}
#CLASS 0
Note how the button caption starts with "%if(@Update,,)" this is what forces caption updating and keeps any extraneous text from being displayed.
_________________
The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums
Reply with quote
alaric
Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Cherry Point, NC

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 2:22 pm   
 
I will try and work that in...not the most advanced scripter so I am going to have to try and figure out what all that does and implement it into my scripts. Thanks for the help, at least I know there is a way. :D
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net