Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account

Play RetroMUD
Turtlemell
Beginner

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 4:51 pm   

Mapping Confis for Lusternia?

I map fine most of the time. My issue is that while in follow mode the map will follow one room and then no more. I set current position and try again.. and repeat.. it will move one room and stop.

I think the problem might lie within the fact that in Lusternia the first sentance of the description is usually saying whether the room is forested or tainted ..such as : "Superimposed over this location, an ethereal forest reaches up to the sky."

I don't have any problem like this in Aetolia. Have searched the forums. I'm not very good at understanding how to tag etc.. I read some direction on that but when I read say.. #tag the room name to be current line.. I dont know how to know what 'line' I am currently on. Embarrassing.

I've also tried entering some setting I've seen people post for Achaea, with no luck.

Anyone care to share the general configurations they use in Lusternia?
Arminas
Wizard

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:53 pm   

There are various methods of solving your map not following you. The question is what are you expecting the map to do exactly? Yes that sounds silly but here are some examples.

When I type a direction in I expect the map to go in that direction even if something stops me from actually entering the next room.

When I type a direction I expect the map to look and see if the room name is the same as the room I have mapped already and to NOT go into the room if the names don’t match.

When I type a direction and the name matches what I already have mapped but the description does not match I do NOT want the map to follow me into the room.

When I type a direction and I actually manage to get into the next room and the name matches I want the map to follow me even if the description does not match.

There is a big LONG list of these that you can do.