Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
bajella2
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:28 pm   

Simple variable problem
 
Im writing a script that will cast spells/use skills once I reach a certain level. I tried making a variable called level to set my level.

#VAR {level} {1} {levelset}

Then I have a trigger that when I gain a level, it will add one to the variable.

#TRIGGER {You rise a level!} {#add 1 @level} {levelset}

When I have these two, zMUD creates a new variable called 1 and will keep adding to it, how do I solve this problem?
Reply with quote
Spansh2
Beginner


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:30 pm   
 
#add Level 1
Reply with quote
bajella2
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 6:23 pm   
 
heh I tried that before and it didn't work, it;s working now, thanks :)
Reply with quote
Private
Adept


Joined: 10 Jan 2002
Posts: 264
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:31 am   
 
i assume you mud has multi classing and that only certain classes gets certain spells, on the mud i play there is even another step... tiers, whereas you tier and can then use spells T-10 levels lower... i came up with this solution for class/level/tier, still needa add a check for whether it is practiced or not...

In this spell: Clerics get aid at 15 as a T0 and Paladins get it at 15

#ALIAS aid {#IF %ismember( Cleric, @current_classes) {
#IF (@current_level >= %eval( 15-(@tier*10))) {
#IF (%1 = "") {starget = self} {starget = %1}
cast 'aid' @starget
}
} {
#IF %ismember( Paladin, @current_classes) {
#IF (@current_level >= %eval( 13-(@tier*10))) {
#IF (%1 = "") {starget = self} {starget = %1}
cast 'aid' @starget
}
}
}
}

upon remorting or tiering, i use an alias to:
additem the @current_classes variable
set @current_level to 1

#ALIAS doremort {current_level = 1;#ADDITEM @current_classes %proper(%1)}

tiering is done with imm interaction and rarely, so i set @tier manually :P

Now if i type or use 'aid' in a script, it'll only attempt a cast if i am a lvl13 cleric or lvl15 paladin (minus the tier adjustment)

As i said, the only addition it needs is to check for practiced, but im too lazy to add, just gotta remember to practice :P
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net