|
wth Novice
Joined: 14 Nov 2001 Posts: 37 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 9:22 pm
How to make script based mapping |
Hello
Mud which I'm playing have very strange output so autoconfigure of mapping doesnt works. I can easly write triggers which will give me info about description, room name, exits, but I dont know how to make those script executed by map editor during exploring (making map).
Any example will help a lot.
--
Waldek
There are no mistakes, just learning experience |
|
|
|
Kjata GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 4379 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 9:35 pm |
You mean the #TAG command? This command allows you to tell the mapper if the output of the MUD is part of a room and should be mapped. Example, suppose you have a room like this:
Room Name
Room description line
Room description line
Room description line
Exits are: north west east
You can make a trigger like this one:
#TRIGGER {Exits are: (*)} {#TAG exit {%1}}
For more information about using #TAG, check the help entry for the #TAG command. Also, remember that when you use #TAG, you shuld always tag your prompt also and that whenever you create/modify a trigger that contains #TAG you must reconfigure the mapper.
Kjata |
|
|
|
wth Novice
Joined: 14 Nov 2001 Posts: 37 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 6:42 pm |
Still trying to do it but can't - below some examples:
There is room name and prompt - no room description - glance is command for short looking (without room description)
glance
On a path inside the desert. [e,w,s]
HP 949/949 CP: 403/403 [e,w,s]>
I got such a triggers:
#TRIGGER {^(*). ~[*~]} {#TAG name %1} ""
#TRIGGER {^HP * ~[(*)~]>} {#TAG prompt;#TAG exit %1} ""
When using autoconfigure or trying to map nothing works :(
--
Waldek
There are no mistakes, just learning experience |
|
|
|
Kjata GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 4379 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 8:40 pm |
What version of zMUD are you using?
Did you try Reconfigure, instead of Configure?
Your MUD doesn't show room descriptions or do you simply not want to store them in the mapper? When you move, does the MUD display the room like the example you posted, or is that only with glance? If the description is shown when moving, you might need to capture it too. If no description is shown, maybe you can put this in the trigger that matches the room name to help:
#VAR roomDesc "";#TAG desc {@roomDesx}
Kjata |
|
|
|
wth Novice
Joined: 14 Nov 2001 Posts: 37 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 10:38 pm |
I'll try to explain.
I can be in one of two modes:
1/ brief mode - during moving I see only room name, items and mobs in room, and later prompt, syntax is:
<room name>. [<exits>]
[optional items in room]
[optional mobs nad players in room]
<here is my prompt: HP 234/224 ....>
Example:
Entrance to newbie area. [e,n,u]
The main guard.
HP 1032/949 CP: 403/403 [e,n,u]>
2/ non-brief mode - during move I see room description, room exits, mobs etc, - syntax:
<multiline room description with NL code at the end of each line of desc>
<room exits leaded by few spaces and text>
[mobs and players]
<prompt as above>
Example:
You are at the entrance to a newbie area. This area is a military complex
where Sardaukar soldiers can learn the art of fighting. You see a high metal
gate. You can also see some inscriptions on the top of the gate. You notice
small stairs to the right. There is a sign to the left.
There is a small note under the sign. READ IT!
Three obvious exits: east, north and up.
The main guard.
HP 1032/949 CP: 403/403 [e,n,u]>
I'm always exploring mud in brief mode so I don't need description. I've tried to make new configuration and reconfigure - nothing works :(
Tell me what for are: map script and zone script in automapper configuration? Triggers I've wrote in last post I've defined in settings.
Ah - I wish to use exits from prompt - not from room name line - because exits from prompt works better (i.e. when have no light they are always visible in prompt)
And - if room desc is needed I can write script which will make look just after moving and catch room description - but b/s of stupid inserting of NL by mud getting triggers for multiline here are difficult, but have experience with it.
Thank in advance.
--
Waldek
There are no mistakes, just learning experience
PS. you have small bug on forum, when clicking 'preview' to see post - text between < and > in preview window are interpreted as HTML tags and not displayed. |
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 11:01 pm |
It is pretty easy to tweak that one without resorting to #TAG
Open the configurations setting after allow to autoconfigure to fail miserably.
For Room Name:
Check Room Name
Paraghraph 0
Line 0
Uncheck Parse Vnum
Check match at start of line
Uncheck match at end of line
Check name ends in period
Uncheck uses proper case
For Room Desc:
Uncheck Room Desc
For Room Exits
Check Room Exits
Paragraph 0
Line 0
Uncheck Multiline exits
Uncheck exit in prompt
Check exits in room name
Check use short exit names
Uncheck everything else
For Prompt
Check Auto, Complex, and Allow string>
Uncheck everything else
Autoconfig should have gotten that one right.
There you go. |
|
|
|
wth Novice
Joined: 14 Nov 2001 Posts: 37 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2002 11:03 am |
Thx. It helps me a little, But still doesnt work proper.
I've noticed that automapper didnt catch line with room name - maked a trigger which write room name line one again and then it started to working (my zmud is 6.32).
I will try to use it and will let you know if will have any other problems.
Thx for help.
--
Waldek
There are no mistakes, just learning experience |
|
|
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|