Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
braumen
Beginner


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 12:04 am   

new ?: how to get a DB to list in status window
 
is it possible to list items in a database to list in the status window?
if it is how would i go about doing it?
Reply with quote
dacheeba
Adept


Joined: 29 Oct 2001
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 12:12 am   
 
Your gonna have to be a bit more describtive than that.We need to know if you are going to have the actual record/field in your scripts, or if you'll need the script to search the DB, if you need it called by alias or what not. the are many ways to go about it, and all i can tell you right now is look at %db,%dbget, and %find.

Also, to get it into the status window, you will need to assign your fields to variables.
Reply with quote
braumen
Beginner


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 17
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 12:37 am   
 
this is what i want it to do:
when a specific piece of text comes from the MUD, i want it to execute a trigger that will: put a single piece of text into the status window, and then update when i want to remove the same piece of text from the status window
i figure using a database would be the easiest way to go about doing this.
i think i know how to do it.... any suggestions would be appreciated as i will probably miss something vital to executing the command properly
Thanks!
Reply with quote
dacheeba
Adept


Joined: 29 Oct 2001
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 3:11 am   
 
This isnt idea for the DB. The DB is really only usefull(IMHO) for large data sets, with multiple fields(ok, maby not LARGE, but you get the idea).

To do what you want, you should just uses variables(maybe a stringlist variable from the way your talking).

#TR {Text you want triggered on} {#VAR statusque whatyouwantinstatuswindow}

Then add @statusque to your status window:
#STW @statusque

As far as updating goes, all you have to do is update the variable, the status window will follow along. I dont know how you want it to know when to update, but there are several ways to do that to.

Trigger based:
Make it so another relevant trigger will update the variable for you:
#TR {Other relevant message} {#VAR statusque {""}}

Alias based:
Make an alias to update the variable when you want to manually:
#ALIAS update {#VAR statusque {""}}

Alarm based:
These are a bit trickier, and i rarely use them, but they allow you to not have to worry about mud output OR manually settings. You would also have to include this into the basic trigger initiating the variable:
#TR {Text you want triggered on} {#VAR statusque {whatyouwantinstatuswindow};#ALARM +5 {#VAR statusque {""}}}
That would update it every 5 seconds.

Anyways, this should help ya figure it all out :)Good Luck
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net