|
derekconlon Newbie
Joined: 25 Nov 2015 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:00 pm
Button Questions: Remove Self, Variable Captions? |
Can buttons remove themselves without having a error?
Here is what I am trying to do:
I type "group" and it shows me my group and their health.
I want buttons to be created for the group members with low health that I can then click to heal them.
The command I'm trying out to create the buttons (that will be fired by a trigger that triggers when the member is low on health) is:
#BU 0 {HEALED} {heal test;#UNB test} {character} {} {1} {toheal1} {} {} {} {} {} {} {} {} {} {Push} {-1} {} {} {} {test} {2}
This command creates the button successfully.
When I click the button, it sends the "heal test" successfully, and deletes itself successfully, but it gives an:
Access violation at address 00DDF4E7 in module 'cMUD.exe'
Read of address 00000000.
I can click continue application and the program doesn't crash but I don't want to have to do that every time i use these buttons.
If a button cannot delete itself, then is it possible for the caption of a button to be changed by a #call command or anything?
I need a way for these buttons to dynamically update themselves as I type "group" or, to go away if i click them.
I have thought of some other solutions but they aren't as good as this one.
Thanks,
Derek Conlon |
|
|
|
Daern Sorcerer
Joined: 15 Apr 2011 Posts: 809
|
Posted: Thu Nov 26, 2015 12:56 am |
Creating and removing any settings (not just buttons) adds a large performance overhead to your script. The recommended method to hide buttons when they're not needed would be to enable and disable them with the #T+ and #T- commands.
As for the caption, there probably is a way to modify it directly by script, but I'd suggest just setting the caption to a variable, then update that whenever you want the text on the button to change. |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4690 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:50 am |
You will likely need to change the caption via the GUI for the caption to not evaluate the variable instead of be the variable.
|
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
coloradoderek Beginner
Joined: 07 Jan 2014 Posts: 18
|
Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 5:15 pm |
I tried setting the caption to , for example, @player1
But it just shows "@player1" as the caption. How do I get it to evaluate the variable and show the variables value, rather than just verbatim what I type in the caption box.
-T and +T is something I thought of but since I couldn't get the Caption to change to the players name, I couldn't use that. Those will only work for me if the caption can also be changed by the script, which I haven't had success at achieving yet.
Thanks for the assistance!!
Derek Conlon |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4690 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 5:50 pm |
You can set an ID via the GUI as well.
The caption is just the default ID if no ID is set.
For the life of me I cannot get any button to display "@player1" verbatim instead of evaluating it, unless i set the caption to "~@player1".
You won't see the evaluated form inside the GUI, you will see it on the actual button.
Right clicking any user defined button will open it in the GUI. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
coloradoderek Beginner
Joined: 07 Jan 2014 Posts: 18
|
Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 6:19 pm |
Yeah.. you are correct.
I bet I was expecting it to evaluate in the GUI and never even checked the button because it's sure doing exactly what you are saying.
Thank you.
I think all my questions have been solved on this thread now.
I feel stupid.. but at least I have my answers. That's all that matters in the end.
Derek Conlon |
|
|
|
|
|