|
Caled Sorcerer
Joined: 21 Oct 2000 Posts: 821 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:30 pm
[2.22] Improvement: compatibility report |
I tried importing a bunch of really old .mud files, not to use but to see how well importing/converting did these days. I was quite impressed, I'll say that much.
One of the files I imported was from the days when I thought:
#IF expression {then this}
was the correct syntax for an if statement i.e. dropping the (brackets) from around the expression.
The compatibility report was fine with that. Apparently it still works, but I was a little concerned. Should the compat report pick this up as bad syntax or doesn't it matter much in the end? |
|
_________________ Athlon 64 3200+
Win XP Pro x64 |
|
|
|
Fang Xianfu GURU
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 5155 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:15 am |
It doesn't matter as long as it's not got spaces. If there are spaces in your expression and you don't group it with brackets (), it'll cause problems.
|
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 2:35 pm |
As far as I know the compatibility report doesn't even work yet. It is still bugged in 2.22.
|
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:40 pm |
Quote: |
As far as I know the compatibility report doesn't even work yet |
Huh?? I have no idea what you are talking about. The compatibility report works fine. If you have reported a bug in it for v2.22, then at least give a link to the bug report. The only bug in my list about the compatibility report is that multistate alarms report a compile error when they are actually fine. |
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:17 am |
Right, but as we mentioned in that post, nobody else could reproduce that crash. The #ALARM issue in that post is the one that I was talking about, but that's not going to cause your crash. I have no idea why it is crashing for you, but you can try sending me your *.PKG file so that I can try it here.
|
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:46 pm |
When you run the report, at the bottom you can see the triggers and stuff it is scanning. When it crashes, is it actually crashing on whatever is showing at the bottom?
|
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:22 pm |
The status at the bottom will either show the trigger/script that is causing the crash, or it will be the last valid script before the one that causes the crash. So yes, you should be able to use that to help track down the trigger causing the crash.
|
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 8:41 pm |
Hmm this is the trigger showing in the status bar when it crashes.
Code: |
<trigger priority="4610" regex="true" id="152">
<pattern>^You bow your head and bid fare-the-well to your senses\.</pattern>
<value>blind=1
deaf=1</value>
</trigger>
|
|
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 8:55 pm |
You need to send me your PKG file. This isn't going to get resolved like this. Obviously the above trigger is fine and doesn't cause any problem. I just tried it and didn't get any crash at all. So either the crash is occurring on the next script in your file, or there is some corruption with your file. Without the file to test there isn't anything I can do to resolve this issue.
|
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:47 pm |
I got the file, thanks. Here is what I did:
1) Ran CMUD, Closed the Session screen
2) Open Settings Editor and select File/Open and opened your MyAV.PKG file. It loaded, created your buttons, etc.
3) Select File/Compatibility Report. I didn't get any crash. Here is the only error it reported:
Quote: |
Trigger ^(?>\(?\w+\)?,?-?\s?)+?strikes out with \w+ foot at your (\w+) l
Does not compile : invalid local variable: side at row 2 col 29 |
In that trigger, you have the line:
Code: |
#var %concat($side, "leg") 1 |
and $side isn't a valid local variable reference in that trigger.
Can you try this exact procedure to see if it crashes for you? If it still crashes, then try installing v2.22 to a new directory on your computer and try it again from there to see if something is corrupted in your CMUD directory. |
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:53 pm |
Same. It crashed immediately with the same exact error.
I'm on Windows XP Professional with SP2.
Edit: I had different names for my local variable there lol. I fixed that though thanks. I declared it as $leg and then used $side. Should have been $side. Anyway, I always get the same error. I did the same procedure you described and as soon as I run the compatibility report it gives me that error and terminates CMUD. |
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 11:24 pm |
Ah ha! As soon as I click and highlight something in the editor and run the report it crashes. If I just reopen CMUD, click my package tab and run the report it doesn't crash and finishes running the report with no errors.
The reason I like using the report is to catch simple stuff like you found. However, for me if I click anywhere in the package on a class or trigger or something it crashes. |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:15 am |
I just tried opening the package again and clicking on stuff and running the report and still didn't get any problems. Also tried it on WinXP.
Did you try doing the fresh install of CMUD 2.22 to a new directory and follow the procedure that I gave above? |
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:04 am |
Yes I did. If I have anything highlighted in the tree, it crashes.
If I just open the MyAv package and then click the MyAv tab and run the report it works fine. If I expand MyAv and click on a random class folder, it crashes with that same error noted above. |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 4:56 am |
OK, please give the *exact* step by step instructions when doing this on a fresh install. I need to know *exactly* what you are clicking on and in what order. If you still get a crash, then copy/paste the stack dump from the crash into [code] tags here.
|
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 5:00 am |
The step by step is pretty much as you have above.
1) Ran CMUD, Closed the Session screen
2) Open Settings Editor and select File/Open and opened MyAV.PKG file.
3) Click the MyAv tab.
3) Select a class or click on MyAv in the tree.
4) Run the compatibility report.
There is no crash dump. It gives the error as stated above and when you click ok it terminates closes out Cmud immediately. Whatever that error means is what the problem is.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v455/amphibian/CmudError.png |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 5:53 pm |
OK, I have no idea what is going on here, but you have something serious wrong with your Windows system.
The fact that you are just getting a Windows error box and not a normal CMUD error box (with the crash dump info) means that Windows itself is generating this error and not CMUD. I have never seen this and have no idea how it could possibly happen.
I noticed a couple of other things that are odd in your screen shot:
1) In the settings editor window behind the compatibility report, the "MyAv" module is collapsed. On my system, when I perform step (2) and open the MyAV.PKG file, the MyAv module is expanded and already visible. So I don't know why it is collapsed in your picture. I collapsed it on mine to see if that caused the crash and it didn't have any effect.
2) In your Windows Taskbar, the CMUD icon entry shows a (4) next to it, indicating that you have 4 CMUD windows open. When I perform your steps on my computer, I only have two CMUD windows (the main window and the settings editor), so I only have a (2) in my task bar.
So there is still something different on your system unless you haven't given me the exact procedure.
But I still can't figure out why you'd be getting that access error directly from Windows bypassing the CMUD error reporting. But maybe this is part of the reason why you seem to get errors that nobody else can reproduce. Maybe your actual Windows installation is corrupted in some weird way. Or maybe you have some other software running in the background that is causing a conflict. I can see that you use AVG for anti-virus, which is the same as I have on XP here. But maybe you have some other task that is running and causing problems.
But I'm really at a loss as to what to suggest next. |
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 1:31 am |
Well I know it's a Windows access error, but I was thinking it was something Cmud was doing or is doing. I only have 2 showing on the taskbar UNTIL I run compatibility report. As soon as I do that it shows 4. The 4 being Cmud, Package editor, Compatibility report, and the Error dialog. So that's normal.
As far as my system goes, I am not sure either. I don't have any problems that I can find and have scanned my system. I am at a loss too then. |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 1:47 am |
OK, the 4 windows make sense. I forgot that the Compatibility report adds it's own window, and I forgot about the error box. So that's fine.
Still not sure why the MyAv module is collapsed instead of expanded in your screenshot.
Anyway, all I can suggest is running Windows Update or to try closing some of the other programs that are running in the background. The better, but more time consuming job would be to boot from your original Windows XP disk and do a Repair install. Don't choose the first repair option that is shown...that just displays the command line console. Press Return to select your current Windows partition and then you will be given the proper Repair option.
Doing a Repair install doesn't effect any of your installed applications. It's a bit painful because you must run Windows Update again to install all of the service packs again. And as I've reported in my Blog several times, there is a bug in Windows Update sometimes if your original Windows CD is "pre SP2". So it's not really something for the faint-hearted. I've done it so many times over the past couple of months that I'm comfortable with it, and it is the best way to clean your Windows system and get everything fixed that might be wrong with it.
Then again, if your computer came with Windows preinstalled, then you probably don't have a problem Windows disk to do this with, and then it's more complicated. Most of the computer repair options for HP, Dell, etc will also wipe out all of your installed applications and just bring your system back to it's original shipped state, which is a real pain and mostly worthless unless your hard disk actually dies or something.
The only other thing I can think of is to install the older 2.18 Public Version in a different directory (do NOT install it into the same directory as 2.22). Then run the same procedure there and see if it still crashes, or if you get a crash dump. If you can get a crash dump, then I might have some chance to determine what is happening. Without the crash dump there is no way for me to tell where the error is occurring. The numbers in the Windows error report are essentially meaningless, so they don't help at all. |
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:02 am |
I collapsed the MyAv in that screenshot. Sorry. It's what I meant by clicking on something in the tree. Also yeah my PC had Windows XP Pro pre-installed.
|
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:14 am |
Okay, not sure how it is my computer. I installed 2.18 to a new directory and the compatibility report ran just fine on MyAv.
|
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:28 am |
Well I don't understand this. I uninstalled and deleted all traces of CMUD from my computer even checking the registry. I then installed 2.22 and ran the compatibility report and it worked fine with no error. I then ran it again and immediately that same error pops up. It is something to do with 2.22, but I don't know what.
Edit: I don't know what to say Zugg. I closed CMUD. I opened it again, clicked the MyAv tab and ran compatibility report like 5 times no errors. As soon as I expand it and click the first class folder or something to select it and then run the report the error pops up. |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 4:37 am |
The main difference between 2.18 and 2.22 for the Compatibility report is that 2.22 is using the external PCRE.DLL library for the regular expression checks, whereas 2.18 had PCRE compiled within. Since this error is coming from Windows and not CMUD, it makes me think that the error might be in the PCRE.DLL file. Any error that occurs within the DLL will not get trapped by the CMUD crash dump.
Maybe Vijilante will have an idea on what to try to test this theory. Maybe there is another PCRE.DLL file that can be downloaded and tested with your CMUD to see what happens.
It would *really* help if you could somehow determine what trigger is causing the problem. Make a backup of your settings file and then start deleting each class, and then run the compatibility report, until you figure out which class contains the trigger that causes the crash. If you can determine the trigger that causes the crash, then we can get other people to test it without you needing to send your full PKG file to anybody else.
That also might help us determine what the problem in PCRE.DLL might be, if that's the cause. But it's the only thing I can think of that changed from 2.18 to 2.22 and would cause the kind of error popup you are getting. |
|
|
|
|
|