|
forren Novice
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 44
|
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 1:34 am
[1.34] Resetting Data Records on Connect |
My combat system for Lusternia uses a number of data records to store information about my current state, affliction cures, etc. On logon, some of these have a habit of being erased (as in, the variable exists, but no value exists inside. It's blank). It only seems to happen on connect to the mud, possibly an increased chance while the settings window is open. Anyone else having a similar problem? I really don't want to have to continuously re-enter data records every time they're removed. Curiously enough, my main data record of 160 entries has not been affected - just the ones below 50 entries. Thoughts?
|
|
|
|
Arminas Wizard
Joined: 11 Jul 2002 Posts: 1265 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 4:02 am |
Do you have use default set in the variable options? This would cause that behavior.
|
|
_________________ Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram |
|
|
|
forren Novice
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 44
|
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:45 pm |
Arminas wrote: |
Do you have use default set in the variable options? This would cause that behavior. |
Nothing is set under default. Use Default is not checked. |
|
|
|
Larkin Wizard
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 1113 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 1:53 pm |
I have no problems with variables being reset when they shouldn't be reset. I'm having problems that they're NOT resetting when they SHOULD. I wonder if the two things are related.
|
|
|
|
forren Novice
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 44
|
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 5:23 pm |
It only seems to happen to me on connect - I often switch between Zmud and Cmud, so I just use file-reconnect along with Mudbot so I don't lose connection. It happens a few times a day - I had to put an alert in my prompt to let me know when the variables erased themselves so I could re-input the values.
|
|
|
|
Dharkael Enchanter
Joined: 05 Mar 2003 Posts: 593 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:44 am |
Until you figure out how and why the records are being erased BETWEEN connections.
You could try something like this in the onconnect and ondisconnect events
//atdisconnect
Code: |
#file 6 backup.rec
#erase 6
#write 6 {@db1} 1
#write 6 {@db2} 2
#write 6 {@db3} 3
#close 6 |
//atconnect
Code: |
#file 6 backup.rec
#var db1 {%read(6,1)}
#var db2 {%read(6,2)}
#var db3 {%read(6,3)}
#close 6 |
I haven't tested this.
I'm just putting ideas out there :) |
|
_________________ -Dharkael-
"No matter how subtle the wizard, a knife between the shoulder blades will seriously cramp his style." |
|
|
|
|
|