|
Leo Newbie
Joined: 10 Nov 2002 Posts: 8 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:53 pm
window focus and other things... |
Currently I am capturing tells, channel communications and shouts and then redirecting them to four different windows. Firstly, I have the problem that if i'm typing when the text is captured I lose the focus from the command window and usually end up some menus open, and all my text I have been typing has gone. Does anyone know of any way I can stop this from happening?
My second problem is in timestamping the captured text to these windows. I am using a slightly modified version of Lalaynya's channel capture script so have a way of stamping the channel captures. However, can anyone suggest a way to add a stamp in front of any tells/shouts?
My current setup is:
#class cap disable
#TRIGGER {^~((%w) Tell~) (*)} {#var cap "%1"#class cap 1}
#TRIGGER {^(%1) shouts, (*)} {#var cap "Shouts";#class cap 1}
#TRIGGER {^(%1) tells you, (*)} {#var cap "Tells";#class cap 1}
#TRIGGER {*} {#cap @Cap;#gag} "Cap"
And in the channel windows settings
#TRIGGER {^~((%w)~):} {#sub %time(hh:mm)}
One last thing, is it possible to change the font size in these child windows?
Leo |
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:40 pm |
quote:
Currently I am capturing tells, channel communications and shouts and then redirecting them to four different windows. Firstly, I have the problem that if i'm typing when the text is captured I lose the focus from the command window and usually end up some menus open, and all my text I have been typing has gone. Does anyone know of any way I can stop this from happening?
My second problem is in timestamping the captured text to these windows. I am using a slightly modified version of Lalaynya's channel capture script so have a way of stamping the channel captures. However, can anyone suggest a way to add a stamp in front of any tells/shouts?
My current setup is:
#class cap disable
#TRIGGER {^~((%w) Tell~) (*)} {#var cap "%1"#class cap 1}
#TRIGGER {^(%1) shouts, (*)} {#var cap "Shouts";#class cap 1}
#TRIGGER {^(%1) tells you, (*)} {#var cap "Tells";#class cap 1}
#TRIGGER {*} {#cap @Cap;#gag} "Cap"
And in the channel windows settings
#TRIGGER {^~((%w)~):} {#sub %time(hh:mm)}
One last thing, is it possible to change the font size in these child windows?
Leo
1)replace "#capture" with ":windowname:" or, in the timestamp trigger put in "mainwindow:"
2)you can do this in a couple different ways. You can create more triggers like the timestamper, or you can use a #SUBSTITUTE command to reformat the text as you wish it to be before sending to the child window.
li'l shmoe of Dragon's Gate MUD |
|
|
|
Leo Newbie
Joined: 10 Nov 2002 Posts: 8 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2002 6:31 pm |
I'm afraid i'm not really sure how the :windowname: and mainwindow: commands work.
I tried simply swapping #Cap for :windowname: doesn't appear to work, and am not really sure how to fiddle the commands so they do.
Leo |
|
|
|
Leo Newbie
Joined: 10 Nov 2002 Posts: 8 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2002 9:44 pm |
I think it's possible my problem is attempting to use :@cap: in the trigger? Is it possible to use a variable like that?
The only other problem I can think of is that :windowname: won't open a new window if it has been closed or doesn't already exist.
Leo |
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2002 10:36 pm |
Based on my own experience, that's correct. Windowname: and :windowname: will redirect commands to existing windows, but won't open new ones.
To open new windows, use #WINDOW windowname, #CAP windowname, or #C+ windowname.
Since you aren't likely to want more than a handful of windows open, and they only need to be opened once, just go ahead and open the desired windows manually. Once the windows are open, windowname: and :windowname: will work as expected.
LightBulb
Senior Member |
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2002 11:52 pm |
quote:
Based on my own experience, that's correct. Windowname: and :windowname: will redirect commands to existing windows, but won't open new ones.
To open new windows, use #WINDOW windowname, #CAP windowname, or #C+ windowname.
Since you aren't likely to want more than a handful of windows open, and they only need to be opened once, just go ahead and open the desired windows manually. Once the windows are open, windowname: and :windowname: will work as expected.
LightBulb
Senior Member
True, but he can simply use #window instead of the :name: syntax. Aside from each calling a different parsing engine, they're the same command used in the same way.
li'l shmoe of Dragon's Gate MUD |
|
|
|
Leo Newbie
Joined: 10 Nov 2002 Posts: 8 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2002 9:45 pm |
This :windowname: has gotten me a little stumped as the way it works is different to #cap, and as such i've not quite worked out how to get it to duplicate the #TRIGGER {*} {#cap @Cap;#gag} "Cap" line.
Could anyone suggest how to use the command to capture the entire line (and any multiple lines that follow) that triggered off the capture class? |
|
|
|
|
|