Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
tejing
Wanderer


Joined: 21 Dec 2001
Posts: 59
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2002 12:23 am   

tell capture window
 
i have a trigger set up to capture tells and direct them to a window by the name of the person who sent me the tell. I was wondering if there was some way to make it so i could just type something in the command bar of one of those windows and make it automatically send it as a tell.
(in my mud you tell by typing: "tell <person> <message>")

Tejing
Reply with quote
Kjata
GURU


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 4379
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2002 2:23 am   
 
Enter this in the command line of that window:
#ONINPUT {(%*)} {tell %1}

Kjata
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2002 3:09 am   
 
quote:

Enter this in the command line of that window:
#ONINPUT {(%*)} {tell %1}

Kjata



Maybe it's just me, but I think you'll need to preface this with the name of the window, by using the #WINDOW command, or perhaps by using #SEND (not sure if this command is limited by window).

:YourMainWindow:tell @person %1
#window YourMainWindow {tell @person %1}
#send {tell @person %1}

Otherwise, your tell will just go to your chat window instead of to the MUD.

li'l shmoe of Dragon's Gate MUD
Reply with quote
Kjata
GURU


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 4379
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2002 3:25 am   
 
Hmm, you are right. Trigger should be then:
#ONINPUT {(%*)} {:mainWindowName:tell %1}

or with out the : at the start - depending on if focus should be kept in the secondary window or not.

Kjata
Reply with quote
tejing
Wanderer


Joined: 21 Dec 2001
Posts: 59
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2002 8:27 am   
 
ok, i got that and it works, but how do I make it so that when i make a new window it does that automatically?

Tejing
Reply with quote
Kjata
GURU


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 4379
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2002 12:32 pm   
 
You don't. You have to do it yourself because this is something that must be saved in the specific settings of that window. However, once you do it the first time, you are able to save the settings for that window. Then, the next time you open a window by the same name, it will automatically load the previosuly saved settings.

Kjata
Reply with quote
tejing
Wanderer


Joined: 21 Dec 2001
Posts: 59
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2002 8:23 pm   
 
ok, thanks

Tejing
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net