 |
ecourt Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2000 Posts: 146 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:11 am
alias stored in a variable, wont expand and trigger (3.33a) |
I see cmud send the lines to the mudd, but it don't parse them as aliases.
Zmud parses these fine.
I tried adding #exec, and %execute on the @kcmd variable, but it still just sends the text to the mudd, without parsing it.
the @dirr part works just fine.
nn bb vv mm are all aliases for spells
#dirr is a direction (n s e w)
pretty simple few lines of code...
Code: |
#var kcmd %case( %random( 1, 4),nn,bb,vv,mm)
#if (%item( @bugs, 1) == "") {@dirr} {@kcmd" "%item( @bugs, 1)}
|
|
|
|
 |
ecourt Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2000 Posts: 146 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:29 am |
hummm, 2nd time I tried the exec, it worked..
Code: |
#var kcmd %case( %random( 1, 4),nn,bb,vv,mm)
#if (%item( @bugs, 1) == "") {@dirr} {%exec(@kcmd)" "%item( @bugs, 1)}
|
|
|
|
 |
Zugg MASTER

Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:36 pm |
In CMUD, a line cannot start with a variable or function reference (because many MUDs use commands that start with @ at the beginning of the line for various chatting).
So yes, #EXEC is what you should be using. The correct syntax for what you are doing is:
Code: |
#if (%item( @bugs, 1) == "") {#EXEC @dirr} {#EXEC %concat(@kcmd," ",%item( @bugs, 1))} |
Remember that #Commands perform an action (such as executing code with #EXEC), whereas %functions return a value. So you should be using #EXEC and not %exec. |
|
|
 |
ecourt Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2000 Posts: 146 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:43 pm |
oddly enough, the {@dirr} works fine...
always had trouble figuring out the difference between % AND # commands, thanks for the clarification |
|
|
 |
Zugg MASTER

Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:26 pm |
Quote: |
oddly enough, the {@dirr} works fine... |
As in zMUD, this is accidental and not by design and you should not depend upon that continuing to work. |
|
|
 |
ecourt Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2000 Posts: 146 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:15 pm |
nope, it works in cmud 3.33a, but I have since changed it.
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|