 |
ReedN Wizard
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 Posts: 1279 Location: Portland, Oregon
|
Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:26 am
[3.05] Opening settings editor causes first class listed under root to expand |
Okay, a minor nitpick, but I dislike how it expands the first class listed under the root every time the Settings Editor is opened.
I typically don't need to enter that first class listed, so I have to spend time every time I open the editor, clicking to collapse the first class, so I can see the rest of my classes.
Like I said, a minor annoyance, but perhaps one that helps polish the product. |
|
|
 |
Zugg MASTER

Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 7:01 pm |
Actually, I don't see this at all. It expands the main window and selects the first setting in the window. For example, in my main window I have classes, like "Class1", "Class2", etc, and then I have an alias, like "test". When I click the Settings button or press Ctrl-G to open the editor, the main window is expanded, and the first alias "test" is selected. My class folders are not expanded.
So you'll need to give me a dump of your package so I can try to reproduce this here. Maybe the first alias in your package is within the first class and that's why it is showing it. You can use the XML tab to look at the various ID values to see what setting has the smallest ID value that might be getting focused first. |
|
|
 |
ReedN Wizard
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 Posts: 1279 Location: Portland, Oregon
|
Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 7:17 pm |
I didn't realize this wasn't seen by everyone. I'll work up a method and post it.
|
|
|
 |
ReedN Wizard
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 Posts: 1279 Location: Portland, Oregon
|
Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 7:25 pm |
Steps:
Code: |
1) Start Cmud, Press Escape to get to a blank session
2) Copy the code below and paste it into the settings editor
3) Close the settings editor and open it again.
What you'll See:
The first class is always expanded.
|
Code:
Code: |
<class name="One" id="1">
<alias name="One_One" id="4"/>
<alias name="One_Two" id="5"/>
</class>
<class name="Two" id="2">
<alias name="Two_One" id="8"/>
<alias name="Two_Two" id="9"/>
</class>
<class name="Three" id="3">
<alias name="Three_One" id="6"/>
<alias name="Three_Two" id="7"/>
</class>
|
|
|
|
 |
Tech GURU

Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 8:11 am |
Weird but confirmed. I didn't see it in my normal session but could recreate in a blank session. It seems it only occurs when all you have are class folders under your main window. So I'm guessing when it selects the first item, if it's a class it expands the class by default.
If you add a trigger or alias to the main window, the problem doesn't occur. |
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
 |
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 4:30 pm |
It always does that. I posted about this ages ago so you aren't the only one who sees it. I'll see if I can find the post.
[Edit] Okay I can't find it. I did find one where deleting a setting caused another class folder to expand but that was fixed. Anyway, it always expanded the first folder. I just thought it was normal...
This only happens if all of your class folders are listed under the main session window. If you enable/load a package, the first folder doesn't expand. |
|
|
 |
Rahab Wizard
Joined: 22 Mar 2007 Posts: 2320
|
Posted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:27 pm |
There are other effects. In a secondary package, create a class with some things in it. Close the class. Leave the class selected. Click on the tab for your main package. Click on the tab to go back to the secondary package. The selected class is automatically opened. I think this is due to the same thing as the above issues.
|
|
|
 |
Zugg MASTER

Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:33 pm |
Tech is correct about how this works. CMUD first looks for a non-class setting in your main root. If nothing is found, then it expands the first class folder and looks for a non-class setting again. It will continue to open class folders until it finds a non-class setting to be displayed. This is how it is intended to work. You can always add a "dummy" setting to your top-level to prevent this from happening.
|
|
|
 |
|
|