Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
Tarken Aurelius
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Oct 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 6:38 pm   

Tagging in CMUD
 
Hey, I'm trying to tag the roomnames in my map and I'm ending up unsuccessful, can someone provide some insight? After I map an area with the descs I run through again in 'brief' mode to see the room names and am trying to name the rooms accordingly. The room name isn't given a name, even with walk out and reenter. My experience is minimal with the mapper:



Lamb cage (e).
A cute little lamb gnaws on some hay
A cute little lamb gnaws on some hay
A cute little lamb gnaws on some hay
A cute little lamb gnaws on some hay

Code:
#TRIGGER {^(*)~ ~((*)~)~.$} {#TAG name {%1}} "mapping"
_________________
Tarken Aurelius, quality triggers since 2004! Trigger consulting since 2008! Content Developer at BatMUD (www.bat.org)
Reply with quote
charneus
Wizard


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1876
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 10:17 pm   
 
First of all, get rid of the {} around the %1. It isn't needed.

Second, why do you have ~ ~((*)~)? If anything, the trigger should read:

#TRIGGER {(*) ~(*~).$} {#TAG name %1} "mapping"

You don't need to anchor the trigger because it'll match everything anyway. Also, if the second * is always going to be a letter, you can change it to %w instead.

Lastly, if the room name is always colored the same (like always yellow or always green), then you can use ansi escape codes to narrow down the trigger. To find out what ansi code you'd need, copy/paste the trigger line into a new trigger via Package Editor.

Charneus
Reply with quote
Fang Xianfu
GURU


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 5155
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 12:10 am   
 
Some pattern improvement wouldn't go amiss, but shouldn't actually be stopping this trigger from working. Make sure that the pattern matches all the text you're trying to match - it matches that single example you gave, but might not match others.

Also, make sure you've reconfigured the mapper since you made that trigger.
_________________
Rorso's syntax colouriser.

- Happy bunny is happy! (1/25)
Reply with quote
Tarken Aurelius
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Oct 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 12:40 am   
 
What does reconfiguring the mapper have to do with it? I am not remapping, just fixing name tags. The descs are differentand should stay.
_________________
Tarken Aurelius, quality triggers since 2004! Trigger consulting since 2008! Content Developer at BatMUD (www.bat.org)
Reply with quote
Fang Xianfu
GURU


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 5155
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 1:32 am   
 
I don't know exactly how the mapper works, but any time you change what's being tagged and when, you need to reconfigure the mapper.
_________________
Rorso's syntax colouriser.

- Happy bunny is happy! (1/25)
Reply with quote
intoK
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 11:55 am   
 
naw, u dont, reconfigure is an evil option. actually you should even disable checkboxes for stuff youre tagging in mapper configuration (map preferences->configuration)
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 4:02 pm   
 
No, actually Fang is correct. In the current mapper, you need to reconfigure after using #TAG, and disabling the stuff that you are tagging is *not* recommended. The only thing I would optionally disable is the Description text.

The next phase of the mapper rewrite will address this issue. But for now, Reconfig is *not* an evil option and really is needed...it is how the mapper properly learns that you are tagging the extra fields.
Reply with quote
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:28 pm   
 
From what you are saying your mud is one of those silly kinds that shows either a name or a description, but never both. My first suggestion is find a different mud.

Assuming you don't like my first suggestion then should look at the #CONFIGURE command. Saving different configurations for each mode you can make the mapper work in both modes by selecting which configuration you want. In order to make the mapper update rooms you have already mapped you should look into the %roomload function. Setting the roomname to be reloaded when mapping with descriptions and the descriptions to be reloaded when mapping with brief can be accomplished using the OnRoomCreate event.

The mapper by itself might not actually preform the update though. You may still have to #TAG the infomation and send an #OK to tell the mapper that a step actually occurred. If it still doesn't update then you will have to a much more invasive method by setting the information with %roomname or %roomdesc. Things like that are why I took to just completely taking over all room information detection and room creations.
_________________
The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums
Reply with quote
Tarken Aurelius
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Oct 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 12:00 am   
 
HAHA (sorry) finding a 'new mud' is not an option here for me, thats just avoiding the problem. I've been playing the same one for 5+ years now. Actually, I think I found the issue. The mapper has to be set to map creation mode in order for it to modify the map. I think this is quite silly if you're just modifying a few things here and there using triggers or direct commands. But on that first note you made Vijilante, I've made a formal requisition to the administration to add a 3rd setting to allow both :).
_________________
Tarken Aurelius, quality triggers since 2004! Trigger consulting since 2008! Content Developer at BatMUD (www.bat.org)
Reply with quote
Fang Xianfu
GURU


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 5155
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 2:56 am   
 
The map has to be in creation mode for it to be editable, yes. The idea is that while you're walking around (especially speedwalking), you don't want scripts to be running in case they modify rooms incorrectly, even when they're your own triggers and not something the mapper is doing on its own. It's basically an easy way to #t- triggers that edit the map.
_________________
Rorso's syntax colouriser.

- Happy bunny is happy! (1/25)
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net