|
thomaspepon Beginner
Joined: 04 Sep 2008 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:57 pm
Newbie question - session based triggers |
Hi all, and thanks in advance for any help.
I'm running zMUD 7.21, and I'm trying to figure out the best way to do something.
I have written a set of scripts for one character to auto-practice spells.
Here is a list of what I'm using now.
variables
........@spell = haste
........@action = cast '<@spell>'
........@prac = 1 (this is just a holder variable for a later trigger)
aliases
........my_practice_script = wake;eat bread;drink skin;#12 {<@action>};sleep;practice
triggers
........@spell%s&%d{prac}~%* sends title is practicing '<@spell>' - %1~% (AFK)
I run the timer, and call my_practice_script on the tick, and just let it run itself.
This works well for one character. So I started another character, and wanted to do it there as well,
but didn't want to create @spell_1, @action_1, @prac_1, etc.
It made sense to me that classes would be the way to go, so I created a class for each character, with
a different practice script for the new character.
I'd like to load a class based on which character I start running. I see that is available from %window.
So I could code one generic set of scripts/triggers, and logically figure out which character is running,
but that doesn't seem quite right.
I think I'd just like to load the particular class when I open the particular character, but I don't see how
to do that. The mud doesn't recognize me by name when I start it, so I can't trigger off of that. I'm not
sure where to go from here. Any suggestions would be most welcome.
Thanks again for any assistance. |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4690 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:28 pm |
i believe zMUD uses %char as well.
Its a predefined variable thats supposed to hold your charecter name.
So you just need to test off of it. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
thomaspepon Beginner
Joined: 04 Sep 2008 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:07 pm |
Thanks Shalimar, I'm going to implement it that way for now,
but I get the feeling that there is a better way to handle it.
I'm looking for an improvement over copy/pasting if statements
to handle multiple characters. Sure it works, and I've always been
about functionality before aesthetics, but it seems like there is a
more concise way to handle it. |
|
|
|
Rappy Wanderer
Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 96
|
Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:40 pm |
I had the same problem with one of my scripts, I use #PICK at the beginning to set @nick variable, but you can use %char as shalimar suggested.
Check http://forums.zuggsoft.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=30761&highlight= to see the results of what I ended up doing to implement this, it may be an alternative for you as well.
-Rappy |
|
_________________ Windows 11 Pro,
cMUD 3.34 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|