|
Halk Newbie
Joined: 12 Jul 2003 Posts: 8 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:49 pm
Capturing MXP output |
I'm back to mudding. So I've grabbed cmud - feels very fast. And I'm getting my aliases and triggers, gags and subs etc set up.
I've noticed that I have not defined a command line, yet cmud is showing one.
It appears to be coming from MXP (or something similar) output from the mud. This is all well and good, however I'd like to be able to capture that output, manipulate it, display it in a status window, etc.
I've had a look through the help files but I suspect I'm missing something possibly quite simple. Could anyone offer any advice? |
|
_________________ |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4689 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 6:27 pm |
The command line is where you type.
I assume you mean a status bar, the line between where you type and the mud output.
In the settings editor there is a button that looks like the speedomoter in a car, that is the icon for status bar/window things, you can disable or delete them |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
Nicodareus Wanderer
Joined: 24 Jun 2008 Posts: 68 Location: Texas
|
Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 6:56 pm |
Yeah, but from the sounds of things, the MUD will just recreate it. Basically, you've got a couple of options.. You can work with the variables that MXP is already defining for you (Which would likely be the best option) or you can disable MXP and do it however you want. As far as setting your status bar for you, that's just going to be the MUD defining certain output as cetain variables. Chances are that the MUD isn't 'hiding' any output from you via MXP.. It is taking your prompt (Typically) and putting tags before and after various variables in there.. Such as:
Code: |
HP: <HP>53</HP>/<MAXHP>78</MAXHP> MP: <MP>23</MP>/<MAXMP>32</MAXMP> |
Which will display a typical HP/MP prompt to you and define all the variables needed in there without ever actually showing you the MXP tags because there is no reason you'd need to see them.
If you want to manipulate the MXP tags themselves for some reason, you could always turn on the 'debug MXP' option so that you see all of the MXP tags, but this would be kind of pointless, because like I said, the MUD isn't going to be actually 'hiding' any output from you to begin with. |
|
|
|
Halk Newbie
Joined: 12 Jul 2003 Posts: 8 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:31 pm |
Sorry. I did mean status line.
Basically I'm wanting access to those numbers. By whichever way is as tidy as possible. |
|
_________________ |
|
|
|
Nicodareus Wanderer
Joined: 24 Jun 2008 Posts: 68 Location: Texas
|
Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:50 am |
Well, they should be available as variables.
|
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4689 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:30 am |
The are often put into the system class, if they arent in the root.
|
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:44 pm |
Actually, MXP variables are accessed via the global %mxp list. For example, %mxp.hp would retrieve the value of the HP entity. But it really depends upon the exact MXP commands that the MUD is sending. You can look in the MXP preferences and go to the Elements tab and select the MUD elements and see exactly how the HP, MAXHP, MP, MAXMP elements are defined. Or, as Nicodareus mentioned, turn on the Debug MXP preference to see exactly what MXP tags the MUD is sending.
|
|
|
|
Halk Newbie
Joined: 12 Jul 2003 Posts: 8 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:06 pm |
> <!EN hp 2614 publish><!EN xp 758091 publish><!EN gp 485 publish><!EN maxhp 2614 publish><!EN maxgp 499 publish>
That's a sample of the MXP prompt from the mud, with debug on.
I've tried "#sa %mxp.maxgp" hoping to see 499. Nothing. I've tried %mxp.maxgp which simply sends "p" to the mud.
I'm rather puzzled with this new fangled stuff :)
Edit : I don't know if this is relevant, but they're not appearing as elements, they're appearing as entities - along with some nice other stuff that cmud has been capturing for me, without me knowing. |
|
_________________ |
|
|
|
Arde Enchanter
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 Posts: 605
|
Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:20 pm |
Mxp entities are available through %mud, not %mxp!
Halk, Zugg [chuckle ], see help predef
Code: |
%mud retrieve an MXP entity (variable). For example %mud.hp would retrieve the entity called "hp"
%mxp retrieve arguments from MXP tag within an MXP Trigger. For example, <COLOR red> results in %mxp.fore="red"
|
So #SAY %mud.maxgp will do the trick. |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:50 pm |
Sorry, Arde is correct.
|
|
|
|
|
|