 |
Kloud13 Newbie
Joined: 15 Mar 2005 Posts: 3 Location: Tucson, Atzlan 2063
|
Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:17 am
Settin up automapper for circlemud |
This is how my mud sets up its Room name (the part before the exits), exits (clearly defined by exits) an description. the part below that.
The....part that tells me wher to enter my commands is a ' > ' sign. sometimes i'll have my current condition ( ' Hp:Scratched> ' or riding " R> " or "R Hp:Scratched>"
Grassy Meadow Exits are: N E S
The land rolls gently here, stretching off to the north and east as far as
the eye can see. To the west steep bank looms suddenly, as if something had
shorn off the land, leaving it broken and forlorn. The bluff runs off to the
south where it can bee seen curving to the east.
I cannot for the life of me get it to pick up the room name, exits or description!
forgot, also the game will put my condition in sometimes before the description so i'll get
R>Grassy Meadow Exits are: N E S
The land rolls gently here, stretching off to the north and east as far as
the eye can see. To the west steep bank looms suddenly, as if something had
shorn off the land, leaving it broken and forlorn. The bluff runs off to the
south where it can bee seen curving to the east.
any ideas on how to rectify this?
The mud is 18.95.2.121 port 3791 if anyone can tell me how to get it to work. |
|
|
 |
Spartacus Wanderer
Joined: 23 Apr 2001 Posts: 53 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:20 pm |
First, in the mapper's configuration settings, under the room name section, you will need to turn off "match room name at beginning of line" or walking won't work right.
Now, for mapping, in order to make that work, you'll probably need to parse out the room name manually and use #TAG to let zmud know it's the room name, something like this should get your room names and exits ok:
Code: |
#TR {{R>|}(&RoomName) Exits are: (&RoomExits)} {#TAG name @RoomName;#TAG exit @RoomExits}
|
Capturing your room description may be more difficult, since it will probably need to be a multi-line capture. Do you always get a blank line after the room description? If so, you could use that to tell you when you've reached the end of a room description.
Just about a year ago, Vijilante posted a very nice fix for my multi-line map triggers which might give you some idea how to proceed. The link is http://forums.zuggsoft.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=15410. Note that the mud I use this on sends things in configurable colors, so I used those colors to tell me when the various parts of a room were beginning and ending. |
|
_________________ Spartacus
rm -rf .* |
|
|
 |
Kloud13 Newbie
Joined: 15 Mar 2005 Posts: 3 Location: Tucson, Atzlan 2063
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:54 am |
Sorry i'm still trying to understand what you did in that post you put up. I did turn off the match room name and that helped wonderfully with the room description and room name...but it thinks now that the exits are part of the room name. Also, when I accidentally hit the 'diagonal' directions (nw, se,ne,sw) the mapper will make it, but his mud doesn't have directions like those. How should I handle that?
ps thanks a lot for your post, it gives me a better idea of what to do.
. |
|
_________________ Still, confused by the % sign. |
|
|
 |
Vijilante SubAdmin

Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 10:28 am |
You should turn off the diagonal directions and macros by opening the Settings Editor (CTRL-G), then select System in the Class Panel. In the settings pane you will see a number of classes you should select DirectionsDiag then check the box 'Remove Inheritted Class'. Repeat for the other Diag class.
You should also make some #NODIR triggers to handle other erronious moves. |
|
_________________ The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums |
|
|
 |
Spartacus Wanderer
Joined: 23 Apr 2001 Posts: 53 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:03 pm |
That's cool - let me see if I can clarify it a little.
First, the trigger pattern captures the room name and the exits string into variables named @RoomName and @RoomExits respectively.
Then the first #TAG command tells the mapper to us @RoomName for the room name. (This is for map creation mode)
The second #TAG tells the mapper to use @RoomExits for the room exits - again, this is really for map creation mode.
This trigger will solve a lot of your problem. Vijilante's suggestion will fix the directions issue.
Good Luck! |
|
_________________ Spartacus
rm -rf .* |
|
|
 |
Kloud13 Newbie
Joined: 15 Mar 2005 Posts: 3 Location: Tucson, Atzlan 2063
|
Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 1:58 am Great! |
I forgot to say thank you and your information really helps. The mapper is working pretty good now. I just have a little bit more problems. Everytime i walk into a room, the mapper recreates the room, which I think is pretty nice, only problem i keep getting rooms that are stacked upon each other now. How do get it just merge the stacked rooms automatically so i don't have to worry about doing that everytime?
|
|
_________________ Still, confused by the % sign. |
|
|
 |
|
|