Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
danielsan
Newbie


Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2003 12:46 am   

Zmud Spacing
 
I have a little script that needs three consecutive spaces to be send in a row. However zmud reduces this to one space immediately upon execution. Changing the lf to cr didn't help and neither did changing emulation. Anyone has a good idea to go at this?

Regards,

danielsan
Reply with quote
Charbal
GURU


Joined: 15 Jun 2001
Posts: 654
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2003 1:54 am   
 
If the command you are trying to send is something of the form:
word1(3 spaces)word2

then you can preserve whitespace by having the command be "word1(3 spaces)word2" (with the quotes).

For example,

#TRIGGER {test} {"word1(3 spaces)word2"}
Reply with quote
Cuttlefish
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2003 2:06 am   
 
I would also think you could get three spaces by %concat(' ', ' ', ' ') but you'd have to try it and see.
Reply with quote
Valdar
Novice


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 30
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 8:26 pm   
 
I believe you can also use the ~ thing to force zMUD to take it literally and not parse it down to 1 space ie: word1~ ~ ~ word2
Reply with quote
Cuttlefish
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 8:58 pm   
 
Yeah, I did this in a script I wrote last night and it worked.

But it is UGLY when you have a lot. Maybe there's a better way to do it, but I set up an alias to #ECHO some lines from the documentation onto my screen. I had to replace all the spaces with " " (since is my escape char). Made for a pretty unreadable script. If there's another option, I'd like to hear it.
Reply with quote
Cuttlefish
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 9:01 pm   
 
Reading back over the thread, I noticed Charbal's reply again. I'm going to try this tonight. I tried:

Code:
#ECHO "        Text text text      text text text   "


etc., but it didn't like the syntax. I'm still working to learn all the zMUD syntax, and looking back on your answer I think I should have tried:

Code:
#ECHO {"        Text text text      text text text   "}


I'll have to give that a shot. I need to sit down and read the docs so I'll know when using {} is required and when it's not and what it actually makes zMUD do.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 8:09 am   
 
Your
#ECHO " Text text text text text text "
is fine. Nothing wrong with that syntax. Where did you get an error?

You use "" as normal quotes to preserve spacing. The difference between using "" and {} is that zMUD variables and functions are expanded within {} but not within "".

You should *never* use both. Use one or the other.
Reply with quote
Cuttlefish
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 5:24 pm   
 
Well shoot Zugg, seems the more I know the less I remember. I did just what you said and, no big surprise, it worked fine.

One of these days I'll get it all down pat, I promise.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net