Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
Curtis
Novice


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 39
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 5:14 am   

Changing Do Not Enter flag
 
I have the mud I can travel by land or water. I have the rooms that enter the water flagged Do Not Enter in the room cost field. I need to tether my steed before I can swim so this keeps ZMUD from trying to take me through water when I'm riding. I would like to be able to toggle these Do Not Enter Flags on and off with a trigger. I have the ability to go etheral which allows me to travel over land and water with great ease. Is there any way to do this?
Reply with quote
Davos
Adept


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 228
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 5:23 am   
 
put a #IF statement in your DO NOT ENTER trigger

#IF (@etheral = 0) {#ECHO DO NOT ENTER}

Then set a alias so that when you go etheral it sets @etheral = 1

then assuming there is a message when you drop out of etheral trigger that message to set @etheral = 0

If you are etheral and log out of your mud, then come back in you arent etheral anymore make sure to set default to 0 on etheral so it will reset each time you load zmud no matter what it was when you closed it.

Then when you are Etheral it wont ECHO the message DO NOT ENTER

THis is assuming you have it set up this way, but you didnt provide much information on how it was set up so im guessing
Reply with quote
mr_kent
Enchanter


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 698

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 1:30 pm   
 
I believe I remember reading a post that said the DO NOT ENTER flag sets the %roomcost to some value. I don't know if that value is zero, negative one, or the highest int possible. Anyway, I'd suggest playing with %roomcost and %roomflags - which could do with some examples in the help files.

Edit: Okay just looked in help under 'Map Object Properties' and read:
The Do Not Enter flag causes the walk alogorithm to treat the cost as 2 billion.

I don't know if setting roomcost to 2 billion also causes the Do Not Enter flag to be set or not.
Reply with quote
Curtis
Novice


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 39
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 1:31 pm   
 
I should have been more specific. In the ROOM PROPERTIES under the OTHER TAB there is a DO NOT ENTER check box. Is there a way to have this check box click yes or no based on a trigger.
Reply with quote
Curtis
Novice


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 39
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 1:31 pm   
 
I should have been more specific. In the ROOM PROPERTIES under the OTHER TAB there is a DO NOT ENTER check box. Is there a way to have this check box click yes or no based on a trigger.
Reply with quote
Curtis
Novice


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 39
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:57 am   
 
Thanks Mr. Kent,

Did a little searching and found what I was looking for in an old post.

roomkind

Syntax: %roomkind([vNum], [i])

Return or set the type of the room to i. Use 128 to set Do Not Enter flag. If vNum is omitted, the current room is used.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net