|
psyborg Beginner
Joined: 12 May 2003 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Thu May 22, 2003 8:49 pm
Variables between windows |
Is there any way for a child window to share a variable with a parent window? I have the variable "names" I use in the main window for hilighting names, and I send formatted output to the child window. making a complete copy of the same trigger and names list, it works. However, it will get tedious if I have to update that window manually every time I add a name to the list. The help files aren't that clear no how the windows interact with each other, so any help will be welcome.
|
|
|
|
psyborg Beginner
Joined: 12 May 2003 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Thu May 22, 2003 9:16 pm |
Well, I found a way to do it...
#ALIAS (/nameadd) {#additem names %1;:famwin:#additem names %1}
updates both variables at once. I would still like to hear if anyone knows how the windows can share 1 variable list in the main window. |
|
|
|
TonDiening GURU
Joined: 26 Jul 2001 Posts: 1958 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Thu May 22, 2003 9:34 pm |
Play with the dot notation, I believe:
#SH @famwin.names
will show the value of the variable names in window famwin.
Ton Diening |
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Thu May 22, 2003 10:28 pm |
Look at the help, contents page Settings...Variables, and you will find what TonDiening said. You also might want to look at the #GVAR command and the %getglobal and %setglobal functions.
|
|
|
|
psyborg Beginner
Joined: 12 May 2003 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Thu May 22, 2003 11:22 pm |
Thanks Vijilante! Always a help.
|
|
|
|
psyborg Beginner
Joined: 12 May 2003 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 12:58 pm |
Err, and you too Tondiening...dunno how I missed you the first time.
|
|
|
|
|
|