|
Palmer Novice
Joined: 21 Mar 2003 Posts: 38 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 4:21 am
%roomname syntax |
(Zmud verison 6.4)
On my MUD (Discworld), 'look' ing in verbose mode won't output the room's name, just its description and exits, while brief mode yields the name, but not the description. As a result, I can have the name picked up by the Mapper automatically, or the description, but not both. I can 'glance' and the name will output, so I'm trying to create a trigger that will update the current room name in the mapper when I glance. I'm stuck on the %roomname function.
It's a simple syntax problem, but while I can use %roomname to #SHOW the currently stored name, I can't figure out how to set the name. Here's a sample glance output:
The Mended Drum [n,s].
Here's my trigger with the color codes stripped for simplicity:
#TRIGGER {glance} {};#COND {(*)%s~[*~]} {%roomname( %1)} {Within|Parameter=5}
What command should I use with the %roomname function to set the name? |
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 6:51 am |
#NOOP
The NOOP command stands for NO OPeration, basically it does nothing. What happens though is that all of its parameters are fully expanded, and in the case of room functions acted upon, then the output of those function and parameters just goes away. The end result being the roomname gets changed, but nothing is displayed to the output window. |
|
|
|
Palmer Novice
Joined: 21 Mar 2003 Posts: 38 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 6:59 am |
That did it. Thanks so much Vijilante!
|
|
|
|
Palmer Novice
Joined: 21 Mar 2003 Posts: 38 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 8:40 am |
I spoke too soon. I thought it worked, now I can't be sure if it worked once, or not at all. Too simplify, I dispensed with the trigger - I can't even get #NOOP to work from the command line. I must have the syntax wrong, but I'm following the wizard and help files scrupulously. With the mapper in map mode, I enter from the command line:
#NOOP %roomname("blank name")
I've taken the syntax for %roomname directly from the wizard. After entering this line, #DES shows the room name property unchanged. Taking a suggestion from the help file to use #CALL, I also tried from the command line:
#CALL %roomname("blank name")
Again #DES reveals no change. On the offchance that these commands don't work from the command line (?), I created a whole new trigger:
#TRIGGER {Whispering to yourself? Neat trick.} {#NOOP %roomname( "blank name")}
Whispering anything to myself triggers this, and it fires correctly, but #DES and manually checking the room properties reveal no change to the room name. I tried the trigger with the Newline option checked, with the Prompt option checked, and with both of them checked.
What am I missing here? |
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 3:01 pm |
A ,
%roomname's first parameter is the room you want to change or check, blank for current room. So you need to do #NOOP %roomname(,"blank name") to set then name of the room your currently standing in. |
|
|
|
Palmer Novice
Joined: 21 Mar 2003 Posts: 38 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2003 8:43 am |
Thanks again Vijilante, now I've got it. Incidentally, I sure wish little things like this were documented in the help files. I could be wrong, but I looked for it and couldn't find it.
|
|
|
|
Kjata GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 4379 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:57 am |
It is:
quote:
Syntax: %roomname([vNum], [s])
Return or set the name of the room to string s. If vNum is omitted, the current room is used.
I think Zugg added the part about using the current room if vNum is omitted recently, but I can't remember if it was before 6.40 or after.
Anyway, when the new public version comes out you will see a much better and updated help file, brought to you by Vijilante.
Kjata |
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2003 6:39 pm |
The current help [6.40]
quote: roomname
Syntax: %roomname( room, [s])
Return or set the name of the room to string s. If room is omitted, the current room is used.
What's probably not entirely clear is that the room parameter can be blank ("omitted") but still has to be present (you need a comma before string s).
LightBulb
Advanced Member |
|
|
|
|
|